And so it begins

Yesterday I presented the CommonPlace Arts proposal to the Downtown Business Association of Charlottesville and got a full vote of support! Guess it’s time to get things rolling… Next step is to talk to specific property owners about spaces we can use.

Stay tuned for updates as I go about identifying properties and artists to incorporate into the project. Let me know if you’re interested in getting involved and be sure to follow @commonplacearts on Twitter!

3 responses to “And so it begins

  1. I would love to see community members submit their favorite found doodles so a storefront could be like Charlottesville’s Refrigerator Door of whimsy and lo-fi drawing!

  2. I have a source of really good information for you. I lived in England for five years up until March of 2010, and they have had a very active organization doing the empty shops thing. The main organizer’s name is Dan Thompson and his e-mail is dan@artistsandmakers.com and he’s also on twitter. If you follow me on twitter, I’m djcnorwich, and I’ll soon have a tweet from him and be able to give you his twitter ID. The English emptyshops group also had an active yahoo group, the e-mail of which is emptyshops@yahoogroups.com and Dan’s website, http://www.artistsandmakers.com reports on what’s going on in empty shops activities all over England. He would be very interested in hearing about the new one here. Just after I moved here, I wrote a letter to C’ville about it which was published. Did you perhaps read it and get inspired? I’d be very VERY interested in getting involved with Charlottesville’s version as I am a textile designer and I’ve got some ideas I’ve wanted to bring into being.

    • This sounds great! Thanks for passing along the info.

      The idea for CommonPlace Arts started back in 2006 when I was making the daily walk down West Main Street to get to UVa from downtown. I couldn’t help but think that all the empty spaces that I passed on that walk were detracting from the possibility for more vitality (both social and economic) in the area. I moved away from Charlottesville shortly after that, but the idea stuck with me and I talked with people in other cities who ran public and storefront art programs. When I returned to town in 2009, I started putting the foundation in place for this project with a huge amount of support from friends, family, and other folks in the community. And here we are…

Leave a Reply

